Then there are those golfers who can't help themselves - who claim to be honest but bring out the ol' foot wedge when they think nobody is looking. And who deny it when caught. Yeah, those guys. Here's your chance to tattle. What is the worst golf cheating you've witnessed? (Please don't use real, full names - just what they did.) Tattle on a Cheat!
Cheaters Best Interest
- I belong to a private course where players form groups of players so they can make their own league rules to benefit themselves. They can't win by adhering to the rules of golf so they change the rules to what they call are the right rules. The club Professional turns a deaf ear and works generating revenue for the club and could care less for the golfer himself. A poor example for the golf industry IMO.
- —Guest Guest Bob
- The guy that started me in golf was one of my best friends from junior high school. In the beginning, he always beat me. But as I got better, eventually our scores were closer, however, I never seemed to win. Then the classic: scores tied, teeing off at 18, par 5 with the green right at the club house outside deck and a full crowd of people waiting for us. My tee shot - long, a little right in the deep rough; his tee shot - same as mine only WAY right. It's getting dark, twilight in fact. We find my ball, easy, his we don't find. Then I turn around and watch him pull one out of his pocket and drop. I freaked out and he blew it off, told me I was seeing things. I could never play golf with him again after that. And, of course, he won again on 18 with a 4.
- —Guest dismayed
I can't believe I did it
- Played in a society outing last Saturday. I had 35 points coming to the last and hit a nice enough drive but a bit to the right. Anyway, our group was quite slow and there was a build up back on the tee so I was ushering my two playing partners along to hurry them up. I outdrove them both by about 60-70 yards but when I reached where I thought my ball was, I couldn't find it. I threw another one down, and two shots later I was about 2 inches from the pin. Everything inside me was saying to scratch the hole but I ashamedly said 4 and ended up finishing 2nd in the tournament because of it. Nobody saw what happened but I'm sick to my stomach with what I did. The society are a great group of lads and now I can't even look them in the eye.
- —Guest Nororymcilroy
- I played with a guy today who yanked two tee shots left on a par 5 into some heavy grass and sticks . He shot 38 on the front and I felt that if I didn't follow him he was going to just drop a ball and claim it as his own . The kid proceeded to call me out on my character for following him . He stayed mad for the rest of the time and afterwards he yelled at me and my team mates from his bus. I still think he would've cheated based alone on the fact that he got so emotional by being followed.
- —Guest Str8shooter
Using two golf balls
- I caught a player with a ball exactly marked as the one he hit on the tee, at least he changed the ball 3 times in the round.
- —Guest Vichokill
- So I was playing yeasturday and a 16 handicap shot 76. Yeah, really? 76 by someone who always 'scoops' the golf ball. I played with him and it was like this. Every hole "what did you play?" I ask. "Par" "you mean bogey?" "oh, yes I do" so if someone is not careful then he just gets a -1 on every hole.
- —Guest Just a guest
When I'm Not Around
- So I'm on JV golf team (trying for varsity this year) and my "friend" a year younger than me is trying out. I can see why with the scores hes shooting! This kid is in 8th grade and tries to tell me that he shoots no worse than a 40 on nine holes from the varsity tees. Yet whenever I play with him he manages to shoot in the 50s and beyond on 9! Not to mention his dad gets him a new set of clubs every year, yet he still manages to do horrible! Makes me mad..
- —Guest FutureGreenJacketOwner
busted and still lied about it
- "Charlie" is by far the best player in our after work 9-hole league. During the playoffs it was AS on the ninth tee. "Charlie" tees off into the deep rough. All the other 3 are down the middle more or less. "Charlie" is looking for his ball much closer to the green than where we saw it go in and it was a much better lie in the area he searched. All of a sudden he says "I found it" almost simultaneously a guy 25 yards back in the really deep grass calls out he had found "Charlie's" ball. Hhhhmmmm? "Charlie" is adamant that he has found his ball although the ball found by the other guy was marked EXACTLY the same as "Charlie" marks his ball. Same brand, same 3 dots in a triangle on the side. A freak coincidence? "Charlie" proceeded to play the ball he found and ended up losing the playoffs. We know the truth "Charlie." We all know the truth.
- —Guest someone who knows
- During our club championship each year, we flight the tournament. A couple of years ago, my friend was at the top of the C-Flight after the first day. On the second day, he was trailing the leader by a couple of shots when the leader hit his tee shot into some very tall grass. He hit a provisional in the fairway and all the members of the group went to look for the first ball that he had hit. While they were looking for the ball, my friend later told me that he noticed the ball while he was helping look for it and stepped on it pushing it further into the ground and making it nearly impossible to find. The leader didn't find the ball and ended up playing his second ball. While my buddy did take the lead after that hole, he would eventually lose to the gentleman whose ball he stepped on. I told him this was the worst example of sportsmanship I had ever seen. He justified it by saying anyone else would have done the same thing. The prize for winning C-Flight - a trophy.
- —Guest Happy Hooker 2
- He cannot help himself, he always handicaps his so called mates so he can give them the NAGA and this year he won the "CHAMPION GOLFER" title that he presented to himself.
- —Guest Rich River
Never in the HOLE!
- I like the guys who play 18 holes and never once put the ball in the hole. Every hole they pick up their ball or knock it away if its within 7 feet or so. And to top it off, they take several what they call mulligans. Oh, and I almost forgot, they move their ball 2 or 3 times before each shot to improve their lie. And then of course, they shoot somewhere in low 80s. I can't understand how anyone can play a full round of golf and never hole out once. I thought that was the main objective of the game.
- —Guest Big Drive 1
The 'eagle' has landed
- Played in a senior medal. A guy better than me with a low handicap hit 3 balls out of bounds off the first tee, all clearly OB. Then he threw his club at the bag and says he NR's but is still going to play. Walks up to next to the green, drops a ball and claims it is his first ball. Then chipped in. Claimed an eagle 2.
- —Guest meep
PAT Test cheater
- To get your card as a professional, you must pass the PAT ( Playing Ability Test) by completing 36 holes under 10 over. I was taking my PAT with three other guys. On the third hole, a guy hits his shot out-of-bounds and into a yard adjacent to the course. He does not play a provisional and goes into the yard and finds his ball. In the yard, there is a cement walkway to the back door of the house. The guy claims that since the walkway impedes his stance - he is able to take relief and then walks about 15 yards and drops his ball in bounds. We told him to play a provisional or WD. Nice try!
- How about a guy who has posted 40 scores, none better than 74. Handicap index 5.4. He got 3 strokes in the club's postseason 9-hole shootout. As it turns out, in real life, seven of his last 20 rounds have been under par. His group keeps them in a book. It figured to a 0.9 index. (We did the math). POINT 9!!!!! No conscience whatsoever. Deserves no respect! And first prize was worth more than $700 at the club. But he didn't even win. The club champ, whose BEST score posted was a 75, won. Seems his 68 in the club championship or any of the other sub-par scores he has shot were not deemed worth enoughy (or bad enough) of being posted. And HE was getting two strokes a side. An undeserved two strokes at that! We need a sign that says "Sandbaggers Will Be Executed!" Instead, here (I'm not saying where, because ya'll know) where a culture of cheating exists, they are simply tolerated. Shame!!!
- —Guest SandBagHater
IKIC (I Know It Cleared)
- I played with my boss "The Bull" in a 4-man scramble. I didn't know the other two players, only that they participated in this weekly scramble that paid cash to the top 3 places. The debacle began on a par-4, which was protected by a watery swap. To clear the swamp would require a player to carry his drive 320-yards. We all hit lay-up shots well short of the mote, while "Bull" stated he could clear the swamp. His tee shot went about 250-yards with a slight snapper into the abyss. When we approached the 3-balls that were in play, Bull remarked that "I Know It Cleared" and refused to believe that his ball was lost. He then insisted on conducting an all out search on the other side of the swap and had the nerve to walk all the way up to green to locate his ball. As the others waited in the fairway, Bull "auto-dispensed" a ball from his pocket and waived to our teamates that he had located his ball. I was shocked! A money game and this guy is cheating.
- —Guest Bull Killer