1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in my forum

'The Big Break'

Winners, Cast Members and More Info about 'The Big Break' Series


"The Big Break" is the name of a series televised on the Golf Channel. A sort of "golf reality" show, "The Big Break" brings together golfers who compete in skills challenges and also head-to-head match play, with prizes at stake that include entry into high-level professional tournaments.

The original "Big Break" series first aired on The Golf Channel on Oct. 7, 2003, and the show quickly became a ratings winner for the network.

Below, in reverse chronological order, are the names of each season of the show, along with winners and cast members.

See also:
Top 5 Big Break alums
How Big Break champs have fared

'Big Break Florida'

  • Cast members: 12 women, names TBA.
  • Location: Omni Amelia Island Plantation, near Jacksonville, Fla.
  • At stake: Exemption into 2014 Manulife Financial LPGA Classic; exempt status on 2015 Symetra Tour

'Big Break NFL from Puerto Rico'

  • Winning team: Team Rice (Emily Talley, Isaac Sanchez and Jerry Rice)
  • Cast members: Men - Will Lowery, Chad Schulze, Oren Geri, Brian Cooper, Isaac Sanchez, James Lepp. Women - Meghan Hardin, Emily Talley, Shannon Fish, Stefanie Kenoyer, Zakiya Randall, Mallory Blackwelder. NFL players - Tim Brown, Marc Bulger, Al Del Greco, Chris Doleman, Jerry Rice, Mark Rypien.
  • Location: Dorado Beach Resort Puerto Rico
  • At stake: Exemptions into 2014 events on LPGA Tour/PGA Tour for golfers; $50,000 charitable donation for NFL players

'Big Break Mexico'

  • Winner: Taylor Collins
  • Cast members: Lindsey Bergeon, Taylor Collins, Matthew Galloway, McKenzie Jackson, Stefanie Kenoyer, Liebelei Lawrence, Brent Long, Chad Schulze, Jason Seymour, Emily Talley, Rob West, Jay Woodson
  • Location: Playa Paraiso Golf Club, Riviera Maya, Mexico
  • At stake: Exemption into 2013 LPGA Lorena Ochoa Invitational; $50,000 cash; $55,000 more in prizes and cash

"Big Break Greenbrier"

  • Winner: Mark Silvers
  • Cast members: Ray Beaufils, Derek Bohlen, Anthony Casalino, Rick Cochran, Brian Cooper, Liam Friedman, Stu Gold, James Lepp, Isaac Sanchez, Mark Silvers, Chan Song, Michael Tobiason
  • Location: The Greenbrier Resort in West Virginia
  • At stake: Exemption into 2013 PGA Tour Greenbrier Classic, plus other cash and prizes

"Big Break Atlantis"

Marcela Leon Big Break Atlantis
© Golf Channel

"Big Break Ireland"

Mark Murphy Big Break Ireland
Mark Ashman / Golf Channel

"Big Break Indian Wells"

Big Break Indian Wells Logo
© Golf Channel

"Big Break Dominican Republic"

Blair O'Neal - Big Break Dominican Republic
Mark Ashman / Golf Channel

"Big Break Sandals Resorts"

Elena Robles
Courtesy of Golf Channel

"Big Break Disney Golf"

Tony Finau - Big Break Disney Golf
© Golf Channel; used with permission
  • Winner: Mike Perez
  • Cast Members: Mike Perez, Ed Moses, Andreas Huber, Kevan Maxwell, Sean Kalin, J.R. Reyes, Vincent Johnson, Blake Moore, Andrew Giuliani, Gipper Finau, Kevin Erdman, Tony Finau
  • Location: Walt Disney World Resort, Orlando, Fla. (Magnolia Course and Palm Course)
  • At stake: Spot in field at 2010 PGA Tour Children's Miracle Network; entry fees for 2010 PGA Tour Q-School; $10,000 shopping spree at Dick's Sporting Goods; free golf for a year; $10,000 cash
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Golf Entertainment
  5. The Big Break
  6. The Big Break Series: Winners and Cast Members

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.