1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Walker Cup


Walker Cup Match

The Walker Cup trophy is one all the competitors hope to get their hands on.

Jamie Squire / Gatty Images

About the Walker Cup Match:

The Walker Cup Match, as it is formally known, is played every other year by teams of amateur male golfers representing the United States and Great Britain & Ireland (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and Ireland). The USGA and the R&A cosanction the event; the USGA selects the U.S. team and the R&A selects the GB&I squad. There are 10 golfers on each team.

The Walker Cup has been officially played since 1922 and is named after George Herbert Walker, who presented the first plan for the competition and donated the trophy in 1920.

The U.S. leads the series, 35-8-1. View the past results

2013 Walker Cup
Team USA dominated the both singles session en route to a 17-9 victory over Team GB&I. The USA won the singles by a combined 13.5 to 4.5. View final results

Team Rosters
• USA: Max Homa, Michael Kim, Patrick Rodgers, Justin Thomas, Cory Whitsett, Bobby Wyatt, Michael Weaver, Jordan Niebrugge, Todd White, Nathan Smith
• GB&I: Matthew Fitzpatrick, Nathan Kimsey, Gavin Moynihan, Max Orrin, Kevin Phelan, Garrick Porteous, Rhys Pugh, Neil Raymond, Callum Shinkwin, Jordan Smith

2011 Walker Cup
Final Score: GB&I 14, USA 12
GB&I built up a 5-point lead heading into the final singles session, then held on for a 2-point win. Paul Cutler lead GB&I with 3.5 points, while Rhys Pugh went 3-0-0. More info

2011 Team Rosters
• USA: Patrick Cantlay, Harris English, Russell Henley, Patrick Rodgers, Nathan Smith, Chris Williams, Peter Uihlein, Blayne Barber, Kelly Kraft, Jordan Spieth
• GB&I: Steven Brown, James Byrne, Paul Cutler, Alan Dunbar, Stiggy Hodgson, Tom Lewis, Rhys Pugh, Jack Senior, Michael Stewart, Andy Sullivan

Official Walker Cup Web site

Walker Cup Format:

The Walker Cup Match is a two-day competition, split each day between foursomes (alternate shot) and singles play. On Day 1, four foursomes matches are played in the morning, followed by eight singles matches in the afternoon (which means that two of 10 team members are sitting out each session for each side). On Day 2, it's four morning foursomes followed by 10 afternoon singles.

Points are awarded to the winners of each match. Matches that are tied after completion of the 18th hole are halved, with each side receiving a half-point.

Future Sites:

2015: Royal Lytham & St. Annes, Lytham St. Annes, Lancashire, England
• 2017: Los Angeles (Calif.) Country Club

Walker Cup Records:

Overall Match Standings
U.S. leads GB&I, 34-8-1

Most Walker Cups Played
• GB&I - 10, Joseph B. Carr (1947-49-51-53-55-57-59-61-63-67); 8, Michael Bonallack
• U.S. - 9, Jay Sigel (1977-79-81-83-85-87-89-91-93); 8, Francis Ouimet

Largest Winning Margin, 18-Hole Match
• Singles - 9 and 7, Scott Hoch, U.S., def. James Buckley, GB&I, 1979
• Foursomes - 7 and 6, Bob Lewis Jr./Jim Holtgrieve, U.S., def. Malcolm Lewis/Martin Thompson, GB&I, 1983; Bryce Molder/David Eger, U.S., def. Steven O'Hara/Marc Warren, GB&I, 2001

Undefeated in Singles
(Minimum 4 matches)
Bobby Jones, U.S., 5-0-0
Luke Donald, GB&I, 4-0-0
Peter Uihlein, USA, 4-0-0
William C. Campbell, U.S., 7-0-1
Phil Mickelson, U.S., 3-0-1

Undefeated, Untied Overall (in Singles and Foursomes)
(Minimum 4 matches)
6-0 - E. Harvie Ward Jr., USA
5-0 - Donald Cherry, USA
4-0 - Paul Casey, GB&I; Danny Edwards, USA; Brad Elder, USA; John Fought, USA; Watts Gunn, USA; Scott Hoch, USA; Lindy Miller, USA; Jack Nicklaus, USA; Andrew Oldcorn, GB&I; Skee Riegel, USA; Frank Taylor, USA; Sam Urzetta, USA; O.F. Willing, USA

Most Overall Wins
18 - Jay Sigel, U.S.
11 - William C. Campbell, U.S.
11 - Billy Joe Patton, U.S.

Walker Cup Trivia and Match Notes:

  • Onetime USGA president George Herbert Walker, after whom the Walker Cup is named, was the grandfather of U.S. President George H.W. Bush, and the great-grandfather of U.S. President George W. Bush.

  • Two matches played between the U.S. and Canada in 1919 and 1920 served as the original inspiration for the Walker Cup. The USGA announced a competition in 1921 and invited all nations to send teams, but no other teams showed up.

  • The Walker Cup was first played in 1922 after the R&A announced it would send a team to compete against the Americans. After that, the competition was open only to U.S. and GB&I teams.
  • At the first Walker Cup in 1922, the GB&I team fell a player short due to illness. Famous golf writer Bernard Darwin, covering the event for The Times of London newspaper, hastily joined the GB&I team - and even won his singles match.

  • The U.S. won the first nine Walker Cups played. The GB&I team finally claimed its first victory in 1938, the 10th Walker Cup.

  • Bobby Jones was the captain of the U.S. side in 1928 and 1930, and Francis Ouimet captained every competition for the U.S. from 1932 through 1949.
  • The Old Course at St. Andrews has hosted the Walker Cup Match eight times (1923, 1926, 1934, 1938, 1947, 1955, 1971, 1975), by far the most times of any course.

Walker Cup Results
2011 - Great Britain & Ireland 14, United States 12
2009 - United States 16.5, Great Britain & Ireland 9.5
2007 - United States 12.5, Great Britain & Ireland, 11.5
2005 - United States 12.5, Great Britain & Ireland 11.5
2003 - Great Britain & Ireland 12.5, United States 11.5
View all Walker Cup Results

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Tours / Events
  5. Team Competitions
  6. Walker Cup Match (USA vs. Great Britain & Ireland)

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.