1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Most Wins in One Calendar Year on PGA Tour

PGA Tour Records: Biggest Single-Season Win Totals


Byron Nelson 1937 Ryder Cup

Byron Nelson holds the PGA Tour record for most wins in a single season.

Fox Photos / Getty Images
OK, everyone knows that Byron Nelson holds the record for most wins in one year on the PGA Tour. But here are the other biggest winners on Tour. Only a handful of golfers have won eight or more times in one year.

Byron Nelson, 1945 (more on Nelson's 1945 season)

Ben Hogan, 1946

Sam Snead, 1950

Ben Hogan, 1948

Paul Runyan, 1933
Tiger Woods, 2000
Vijay Singh, 2004

Horton Smith, 1929
Gene Sarazen, 1930
Sam Snead, 1938
Byron Nelson, 1944
Arnold Palmer, 1960
Arnold Palmer, 1962
Johnny Miller, 1974
Tiger Woods, 1999
Tiger Woods, 2006

Tiger Woods is the only golfer to win eight or more times in one year in three different seasons. And if you're wondering where Jack Nicklaus is, the Golden Bear's highest single-season win total was 7.

Source: PGA Tour

Back to PGA Tour Records index

Related Video
Chipping From Tall Grass
Correct Posture
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.