1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Longest Time from First to Last Victory on the PGA Tour

PGA Tour Records: Most Years Between First and Last Wins


Raymond Floyd - longest gap between first and last wins

Raymond Floyd's last win on the PGA Tour came nearly 29 years after his first.

Stephen Dunn / Getty Images
The golfers on this list are the ones who started winning young and kept winning a long time. They are the golfers with the longest time between their first PGA Tour win and their last PGA Tour win.

28 years, 11 months, 20 days
Raymond Floyd (March 17, 1963-March 8, 1992)

28 years, 2 months, 17 days
Sam Snead (January 17, 1937-April 4, 1965)

23 years, 11 months, 24 days
Tom Watson (June 30, 1974-May 24, 1998)

23 years, 11 months, 5 days
Macdonald Smith (August 28, 1912-August 2, 1936)

23 years, 9 months, 27 days
Jack Nicklaus (June 17, 1962-April 13, 1986)

No surprise that four of the five golfers on this list are Hall of Famers. After all, to make this list you have be capable of winning, and capable of sticking around on tour for a long time. The one who isn't a Hall of Famer, Macdonald Smith, won 24 PGA Tour titles (two more than Floyd won).

As for the recordholder: Floyd's first PGA Tour victory was at the 1963 St. Petersburg Open Invitational; and his last was the 1992 Doral-Ryder Open.

Back to PGA Tour Records index

Source: PGA Tour

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.