1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

WGC Match Play Championship


WGC Accenture Match Play Championship trophy

This trophy awaits the winner of the WGC Accenture Match Play Championship. The trophy is called the 'Walter Hagen Cup.'

Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

About the WGC Match Play Championship:

The WGC Accenture Match Play Championship is part of the World Golf Championships series of tournaments. This event is played at match play, rather than stroke play, and begins with a field of 64 golfers. The players knock each other off until two remain for the championship match. (More on format below.)

Beginning in 2015, the tournament moved from what had typically been a late January/early February place on the schedule to late April/early May, and also moved from Arizona to California.

2015 WGC Match Play Championship

  • When: April 30-May 3
  • Where: TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, California

2014 Tournament
Jason Day won the championship over Victor Dubuisson without ever trailing - but it wasn't an easy win, because Day had to go to extra holes to secure the victory. Day and Dubuisson were all square after 18, and it took another five holes before Day could win. It was Day's second career PGA Tour victory. Day reached the final by beating Rickie Fowler 3 and 2 in one semifinal; in the other, Dubuisson dispatched Ernie Els, 1-up.

Official Web site

WGC Match Play Championship Format:

The field for the WGC Match Play Championship is comprised of the Top 64 available golfers from the Official World Golf Rankings, who are seeded 1-64 according to their rankings.

The golfers face off in single-elimination, 18-hole, match-play matches. In the first round, the No. 1 seed plays No. 64; No. 2 plays No. 63; and so on.

On the final day, the last four golfers play semifinal matches in the morning. The winners of the semifinals face each other in the championship match in the afternoon, while the semifinal losers play a consolation match.

• See also: Match Play Primer

WGC Match Play Championship Golf Courses:

The WGC Match Play Championship, beginning in 2015, is played at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco.  Previously, this tournament was played at:

  • The Gallery Golf Club at Dove Mountain, Tucson, Ariz., 2007-2014
  • La Costa Resort and Spa, Carlsbad, Calif., 1999-2000, 2002-2006
  • The Metropolitan Club, South Oakleigh, Victoria, Australia, 2001

WGC Match Play Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • Jeff Maggert won the first WGC Match Play Championship in 1999. That was the first WGC tournament played, making Maggert the first-ever WGC champion.
  • Tiger Woods has the most victories in this tournament with three. Woods won back-to-back in 2003-04, then added his third victory in 2008.
  • The only other multiple winner, so far, is Geoff Ogilvy. Ogilvy won in 2006 and again in 2009. (Woods and Ogilvy each also lost once in the championship match.)

Previous Tournament Winners

WGC Accenture Match Play Championship

2014 - Jason Day def. Victor Dubuisson, 1-up (23 holes)
2013 - Matt Kuchar def. Hunter Mahan, 2 and 1
2012 - Hunter Mahan def. Rory McIlroy, 2 and 1
2011 - Luke Donald def. Martin Kaymer, 3 and 2
(Prior to 2011 championship matches were 36 holes)
2010 - Ian Poulter def. Paul Casey, 4 and 2
2009 - Geoff Ogilvy def. Paul Casey, 4 and 3
2008 - Tiger Woods def. Stewart Cink, 8 and 7
2007 - Henrik Stenson def. Geoff Ogilvy, 2 and 1
2006 - Geoff Ogilvy def. Davis Love III, 3 and 2
2005 - David Toms def. Chris DiMarco, 6 and 5
2004 - Tiger Woods def. Davis Love III, 3 and 2
2003 - Tiger Woods def. David Toms, 2 and 1
2002 - Kevin Sutherland def. Scott McCarron, 1-up
2001 - Steve Stricker def. Pierre Fulke, 2 and 1
2000 - Darren Clarke def. Tiger Woods, 4 and 3
1999 - Jeff Maggert def. Andrew Magee, 1-up (38 holes)

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Tours / Events
  5. Pro Golf Tours
  6. WGC Match Play Championship

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.