1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

PGA Tour: The Tour Championship


Tour Championship golf tournament

Tom Watson was the winner of the first Tour Championship.

Bob Martin / Getty Images

About The Tour Championship:

The Tour Championship is a limited-field event that has long been considered the finale to the big-money part of the PGA Tour schedule. Beginning in 2007, the Tour Championship also serves as the culmination of the FedEx Cup chase, the tournament at which the FedEx Cup champion is crowned. The Tour Championship field is limited to the Top 30 golfers on the FedEx Cup playoff points list.

2015 Tour Championship
• When: Sept. 24-27
• Where: East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, Georgia

2014 Tour Championship
• When: Sept. 11-14
• Where: East Lake Golf Club, Atlanta, Georgia

2013 Tournament
Henrik Stenson won the tournament and also won the $10 million bonus prize for winning the FedEx Cup championship. Stenson's tournament win was by three strokes over Jordan Spieth and Steve Stricker. He finished at 13-under 267. Stenson entered the Tour Championship in second place in the FedEx Cup point standings, but bypassed Tiger Woods by winning the tournament.

PGA Tour tournament site

The Tour Championship Records:

  • Overall: 257 - Tiger Woods, 2007
  • Tournament 18-Hole record: 60 - Zach Johnson, 2007

The Tour Championship Golf Courses:

The first Tour Championship was played at Oak Hills Country Club in San Antonio, Texas. The tournament rotated in ensuing years among several high-profile venues including Pebble Beach, Harbour Town, Pinehurst No. 2, Olympic Club, Southern Hills, and Champions in Houston.

Beginning in 2004, East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, Ga., has been the permanent home of this tournament.

The Tour Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • The Tour Championship was first played in 1987, and Tom Watson was the first champion.

  • When Chad Campbell won the Tour Championship in 2003, it was his first career victory on the PGA Tour.

  • Only two golfers have posted multiple victories in The Tour Championship - Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson. Each has won the tournament twice.

  • From 1987 through 2006, the field was comprised of the Top 30 players on the money list. Beginning in 2007, the field is made up of the Top 30 players on the FedEx Cup playoff points list.
  • Scoring was low in 2007. Tiger Woods' winning 257 bettered the previous 72-hole tournament scoring record by six strokes. And Zach Johnson set an 18-hole record that same year with a round of 60.

  • Johnson posted that 60 in the third round. And when he did, he became the 20th golfer to post a 60 in an official PGA Tour tournament. (Johnson later became the first person to do it twice).

The Tour Championship Winners:


The Tour Championship
2013 - Henrik Stenson, 267
2012 - Brandt Snedeker, 270
2011 - Bill Haas-p, 272
2010 - Jim Furyk, 272
2009 - Phil Mickelson, 271
2008 - Camilo Villegas, 273
2007 - Tiger Woods, 257
2006 - Adam Scott, 269
2005 - Bart Bryant, 263
2004 - Retief Goosen, 269
2003 - Chad Campbell, 268
2002 - Vijay Singh, 268
2001 - Mike Weir-p, 270
2000 - Phil Mickelson, 267
1999 - Tiger Woods, 269
1998 - Hal Sutton-p, 274
1997 - David Duval, 273
1996 - Tom Lehman, 268
1995 - Billy Mayfair, 280
1994 - Mark McCumber-p, 274
1993 - Jim Gallagher Jr., 277
1992 - Paul Azinger, 276
1991 - Craig Stadler-p, 279

Nabisco Championships
1989 - Tom Kite-p, 276

Nabisco Golf Championships
1988 - Curtis Strange-p, 279

Nabisco Championships of Golf
1987 - Tom Watson, 268

Related Video
Chipping From Tall Grass
Correct Posture
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.