1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament


The Memorial Golf Tournament

Jack Nicklaus in 1978, after he won the British Open for the third time, and one year after he won his own tournament, The Memorial.

Steve Powell / Getty Images

About The Memorial Golf Tournament:

Founded by and hosted by Jack Nicklaus, at the golf course he designed, The Memorial Tournament is one of the most important "regular" PGA Tour events (outside of the majors, Players Championship and WGC events) on the schedule. It's Jack's tournament, after all. And each year The Memorial honors golfers, living or dead, who made a significant contribution to the game (hence the tournament's name).

2014 Tournament
Hideki Matsuyama defeated Kevin Na on the first playoff hole to win the trophy. Na and Matsuyama finished 72 holes tied at 13-under 275. Na got there by shooting 64 in the final round; Matsuyama's fourth-round score was 69. But on the first playoff hole, Matsuyama needed only a par to get to the better of Na. It was the 22-year-old Matsuyama's first PGA Tour win.

2013 Tournament
Matt Kuchar opened and closed with 68s (and two rounds of 70 in-between) to win by two strokes over Kevin Chappell. It was Kuchar's second win of the season, the first time in his career he has won multiple PGA Tour events in the same year. Kuchar has six career wins on the PGA Tour.

Tiger Woods shoots worst 9-hole score of career

2012 Memorial Golf Tournament
Tiger Woods birdied three of the last four holes - including a spectacular chip-in on No. 16 and a birdie on the 18th - to win this tournament for the fifth time (Woods was already the only 4-time winner). Rory Sabbatini and Andres Romero tied for second, two behind Woods' total of 279. The victory was Woods' 73rd on the PGA Tour, tying him with tournament host Jack Nicklaus on the all-time wins list.

Official Web site
PGA Tour tournament site

PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament Records:

  • Overall: 268 - Tom Lehman, 1994
  • Tournament course record: 61 - John Huston, 1996

PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament Golf Course:

The Memorial Tournament is played at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Columbus, Ohio. The course was designed by Jack Nicklaus with Desmond Muirhead on a piece of property that Nicklaus' father took him hunting on when he was a young boy. The course opened on Memorial Day in 1974, and The Memorial Tournament was first played in 1976. Read more about Muirfield Village

PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament Trivia and Notes:

  • Roger Maltbie won the first Memorial Tournament in a playoff over Hale Irwin after a brilliant stroke of luck. On the third playoff hole, Maltie's approach from 186 yards sailed left of the green ... but hit a gallery stake and bounced onto the green. Maltbie made par and eventually won on an ensuing hole.

  • The first Memorial Tournament used a 3-hole, aggregate-score playoff format, with sudden death following if necessary. Although then-Tour Commissioner Deane Beman later nixed this playoff format, it was the first use of this type of playoff that would later be used in some majors.

  • Jack Nicklaus won his own tournament in its second year, 1977, then in 1984 became the first two-time winner of this event.

  • Tiger Woods is the only golfer to win The Memorial Tournament back-to-back, and he won three straight years, 1999-2001.

  • Woods added another victory in 2009, making him the only four-time winner, then became the first with five victories after winning again in 2012.

  • Kenny Perry has three wins here, the only golfer other than Woods to win three or more times.

  • Hale Irwin, Tom Watson and Greg Norman are two-time winners of The Memorial.

PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament Winners:

(p-playoff; w-weather shortened)

The Memorial Tournament
2014 - Hideki Matsuyama-p, 275
2013 - Matt Kuchar, 276
2012 - Tiger Woods, 279
2011 - Steve Stricker, 272
2010 - Justin Rose, 270
2009 - Tiger Woods, 276
2008 - Kenny Perry, 280
2007 - K.J. Choi, 271
2006 - Carl Pettersson, 276
2005 - Bart Bryant, 272
2004 - Ernie Els, 270
2003 - Kenny Perry, 275
2002 - Jim Furyk, 274
2001 - Tiger Woods, 271
2000 - Tiger Woods, 269
1999 - Tiger Woods, 273
1998 - Fred Couples, 271
1997 - Vijay Singh-w, 202
1996 - Tom Watson, 274
1995 - Greg Norman, 269
1994 - Tom Lehman, 268
1993 - Paul Azinger, 274
1992 - David Edwards-p, 273
1991 - Kenny Perry-p, 273
1990 - Greg Norman-w, 216
1989 - Bob Tway, 277
1988 - Curtis Strange, 274
1987 - Don Pooley, 272
1986 - Hal Sutton, 271
1985 - Hale Irwin, 281
1984 - Jack Nicklaus-p, 280
1983 - Hale Irwin, 281
1982 - Raymond Floyd, 281
1981 - Keith Fergus, 284
1980 - David Graham, 280
1979 - Tom Watson, 285
1978 - Jim Simons, 284
1977 - Jack Nicklaus, 281
1976 - Roger Maltbie-p, 288

Related Video
Chipping From Tall Grass
Correct Posture
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Tours / Events
  5. Pro Golf Tours
  6. PGA Tour The Memorial Tournament

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.