1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open


Ian Woosnam 1987

Golfer Ian Woosnam in 1987, the year of the first of his three Scottish Open wins.

Chris Cole / Getty Images

About the Scottish Open:

The Scottish Open debuted in 1972, but wasn't played from 1974-85. It returned in 1986 and has been part of the European Tour schedule since. It is played the week prior to the British Open. Barclays was been the title sponsor from 2002-11. In 2012, Aberdeen Asset Management took over as title sponsor.
2014 Scottish Open
Justin Rose fired a final-round 65 to win by two strokes over runner-up Kristofer Broberg. Rose finished at 16-under-par 268. It was Rose's seventh victory on the European Tour.

2013 Tournament
Phil Mickelson won the first playoff hole over Brendan Grace. Mickelson needed to par the 72nd hole to win outright, but bogied, falling into the tie with Grace at 17-under 271. But Mickelson, replaying the 18th hole for the playoff, immediately made amends with a wedge approach to inches from the cup. He knocked in that birdie putt for the victory, his first European Tour victory outside of majors and events that are now part of the WGC series.

European Tour tournament site

Scottish Open Tournament Records:

  • 18 holes: 60 - Paul Curry, 1992
  • 72 holes: 262 - Peter O'Malley, 1992

Scottish Open Golf Courses:

In 2011, the Scottish Open moved to Castle Stuart Golf Links in Inverness after spending the previous 15 years at Loch Lomond Golf Club in Luss, Argyll & Bute. While Loch Lomond was popular with players, many also believed the tournament should be played at a links-style course given that the Scottish Open always precedes the British Open by one week. So the move was made from the parkland-style Loch Lomond to the Castle Stuart links.

In 2014, the tournament takes place at Royal Aberdeen, another links.

Earlier in its history, the tourney was also played at Carnoustie, Gleneagles, Haggs Castle, The Old Course at St. Andrews and Downfield Golf Club.

Scottish Open Trivia and Notes:

  • Ian Woosnam is the only 3-time winner of the Scottish Open, taking titles in 1987, 1990 and 1996.

  • Ernie Els is the only other golfer to win multiple titles here. Els was the victor in 2000 and 2003.

  • Carnoustie has a reputation for being a very tough golf course, and that reputation held up when the Scottish Open was played at Carnoustie in 1996. Woosnam won that year without shooting in the 60s in any of his four rounds, and with a final score of 1-over par.
  • At the other end of the scale was the 1992 Scottish Open at Gleneagles. That year, the tournament's 18-hole (60) and 72-hole (262) scoring records were both established. Winner Peter O'Malley shot 62 in the final round.

  • In 2013, Phil Mickelson became the first golfer to win the Scottish Open and then win the British Open the following week.
  • Here's an oddity: The Scottish Open had two winners in 1996. In July, Woosnam won the Scottish Open at Carnoustie. In September, Thomas Bjorn won the Loch Lomond World Invitational at Loch Lomond. The Scottish Open was actually discontinued after 1996, while in 2001, the Loch Lomond World Invitational was renamed to "Scottish Open." At that point, the Euro Tour decided to fold the Loch Lomond tournament's history into the traditional Scottish Open history (essentially treating the two different tournaments as the same event). Since both were played in 1996, that resulted in two Scottish Open winners that year.

Scottish Open Winners:

(p-won playoff; w-shortened by weather)

Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open
2014 - Justin Rose, 268
2013 - Phil Mickelson-p, 271
2012 - Jeev Milkha Singh-p, 271

Barclays Scottish Open
2011 - Luke Donald-w, 197
2010 - Edoardo Molinari, 272
2009 - Martin Kaymer, 269
2008 - Graeme McDowell, 271
2007 - Gregory Havret-p, 270
2006 - Johan Edfors, 271
2005 - Tim Clark, 265
2004 - Thomas Levet, 269
2003 - Ernie Els, 267
2002 - Eduardo Romero-p, 273

The Scottish Open at Loch Lomond
2001 - Retief Goosen, 268

Standard Life Loch Lomond
2000 - Ernie Els, 273
1999 - Colin Montgomerie, 268
1998 - Lee Westwood, 276

Gulfstream Loch Lomond World Invitational
1997 - Tom Lehman, 265

Loch Lomond World Invitational
1996 - Thomas Bjorn, 277

Scottish Open
1996 - Ian Woosnam, 289
1995 - Wayne Riley, 276

Bell's Scottish Open
1994 - Carl Mason, 265
1993 - Jesper Parnevik, 271
1992 - Peter O'Malley, 262
1991 - Craig Parry, 268
1990 - Ian Woosnam, 269
1989 - Michael Allen, 272
1988 - Barry Lane, 271
1987 - Ian Woosnam, 264
1986 - David Feherty-p, 270

Sunbeam Electric Scottish Open
1973 - Graham Marsh, 286
1972 - Neil Coles, 283

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.