1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Nordea Masters

Past champs, plus fun facts and figures for the European Tour tournament


Colin Montgomerie at the 1998 Scandinavian Masters

Colin Montgomerie, pictured at the 1998 Scandinavian Masters, is a 3-time winner of the tournament.

Paul Severn/Getty Images

About the Nordea Masters:

The tournament traditionally known as the Scandinavian Masters is played annually in Sweden. This event, now called the Nordea Masters, has been part of the European Tour schedule since its debut in 1991. Nordea, a financial services company, became title sponsor beginning in 2010.

2014 Nordea Masters
Thongchai Jaidee won the tournament on the first playoff hole. Jaidee, Stephen Gallacher and Victor Dubuisson all finished 72 holes at 16-under 272. But on the first extra hole, Jaidee birdied the par-5 while his opponents only managed pars. It is Jaidee's sixth win on the European Tour.

2013 Tournament

Mikko Ilonen won for the first time since 2007, taking a 3-stroke victory over Jonas Blixt with a score of 21-under 267. It was Ilonen's third overall win on the Euro Tour - he is the only golfer from Finland (through this point) to win on the European Tour.

Dodt makes 2 aces in second round

Official Web site
European Tour tournament site

Nordea Masters Tournament Records:

  • 18 holes: 61 - Fred Couples, 1991
  • 72 holes: 262 - Mark Hensby, 2005

Nordea Masters Golf Courses:

The current host site of the Nordea Masters is Bro Hof Slott Golf Club in Bro, a suburb of Stockholm. The tournament moved there beginning in 2010.

Previously, multiple courses hosted the tournament over the years. Most frequent among the host courses was Barseback Golf & Country Club in Malmo.

Nordea Masters Trivia and Notes:

  • The tournament was created in 1991 through the merger of two existing Swedish tournaments. The Scandinavian Enterprise Open and the PLM Open combined operations and came out of that merger as the Scandinavian Masters.

  • There has not yet been a back-to-back winner in this tournament.

  • Colin Montgomerie and Lee Westwood have the most wins with three each. Monty won the inaugural Scandinavian Masters in 1991, and added victories in 1999 and 2001. Westwood first won in 1996, and again in 2000 and 2012.

  • Graeme McDowell's first win on the European Tour happened at the 2002 Scandinavian Masters. McDowell still holds the tourney record for youngest winner; he was five days past his 23rd birthday.

  • Luke Donald's first European Tour win also happened in this tournament, in 2004 (although it was two years after Donald had already won on USPGA).

  • Jesper Parnevik, in 1995, was the first Swede to win this tournament, and he won again in 1998.

  • At the 2013 tournament, Andrew Dodt scored two holes-in-one in the same round, en route to a 65 in Round 2.

Nordea Masters Winners:

(p-won playoff)

Nordea Masters
2014 - Thongchai Jaidee-p, 272
2013 - Mikko Ilonen, 267
2012 - Lee Westwood, 269

Nordea Scandinavian Masters
2011 - Alexander Noren, 273
2010 - Richard S. Johnson, 277

SAS Masters
2009 - Ricardo Gonzalez, 282
2008 - Peter Hanson, 271

Scandinavian Masters
2007 - Mikko Ilonen, 274

EnterCard Scandinavian Masters
2006 - Marc Warren-p, 278

Scandinavian Masters by Carlsberg
2005 - Mark Hensby-p, 262
2004 - Luke Donald, 272

Scandic Carlsberg Scandinavian Masters
2003 - Adam Scott, 277

Volvo Scandinavian Masters
2002 - Graeme McDowell, 270
2001 - Colin Montgomerie, 274
2000 - Lee Westwood, 270
1999 - Colin Montgomerie, 268
1998 - Jesper Parnevik, 273
1997 - Joakim Haeggman, 270
1996 - Lee Westwood-p, 281
1995 - Jesper Parnevik, 270

Scandinavian Masters
1994 - Vijay Singh, 268
1993 - Peter Baker-p, 278
1992 - Nick Faldo, 277
1991 - Colin Montgomerie, 270

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Tours / Events
  5. Pro Golf Tours
  6. Nordea Masters

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.