1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Commercialbank Qatar Masters


Ernie Els won the Qatar Masters golf tournament in 2005

Ernie Els won the Qatar Masters golf tournament in 2005.

Scott Halleran / Getty Images

About the Commercialbank Qatar Masters:

The Qatar Masters is part of the European Tour's "Gulf Swing," a series of tournaments in the early part of the tour's schedule played in the Persian Gulf area. The tournament dates to 1998, and Commercialbank has been the title sponsor since 2006.

2014 Qatar Masters
Sergio Garcia claimed his first victory in this tournament, beating Mikko Illonen in a playoff. Third-round leader Rafa Cabrera-Bello shot a good 69 in the final round, but Garcia shot 65 and Illonen 66 to pass him and tie for the lead at 16-under 272. Garcia won the playoff with a birdie on the third extra hole. It was Garcia's 11th career win on the European Tour, his first since 2011.

2013 Tournament
Chris Wood eagled the final hole to claim victory by one stroke. Wood began the day with a 3-stroke lead, but he trailed Sergio Garcia and George Coetzee by one on the final hole - until eagle secured the win. Wood finished at 18-under 270 for his first European Tour victory.

European Tour tournament site

Commercialbank Qatar Masters Records:

  • 72 holes: 268 - Paul Lawrie, 1999; Adam Scott, 2008
  • 18 holes: 61 - Adam Scott, 2008

Commercialbank Qatar Masters Golf Courses:

The Qatar Masters has been played on the same golf course throughout its history: The Doha Golf Club in Doha, Qatar. (View Doha Golf Club pictures)

Commercialbank Qatar Masters Trivia and Notes:

  • The winner of the first Qatar Masters in 1998 was Andrew Coltart.

  • When Paul Lawrie won in 1999, it was his second career victory - and a prelude to his victory several months later at the 1999 British Open. Lawrie won this tournament again in 2012.

  • Adam Scott is the only two-time winner to date, claiming the Qatar Masters titles in 2002 and 2008.

  • From 2005 through 2007, the Qatar Masters was cosanctioned by the Asian Tour.

Commercialbank Qatar Masters Winners:

(w-tournament shortened by weather)

Commercialbank Qatar Masters
2014 - Sergio Garcia-p, 272
2013 - Chris Wood, 270
2012 - Paul Lawrie-w, 201
2011 - Thomas Bjorn, 274
2010 - Robert Karlsson, 273
2009 - Alvaro Quiros, 269
2008 - Adam Scott, 268
2007 - Retief Goosen, 273
2006 - Henrik Stenson, 273

Qatar Masters
2005 - Ernie Els, 276
2004 - Joakim Haeggman, 272
2003 - Darren Fichardt, 275
2002 - Adam Scott, 269
2001 - Tony Johnstone, 274
2000 - Rolf Muntz, 280
1999 - Paul Lawrie, 268
1998 - Andrew Coltart, 270

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Tours / Events
  5. Pro Golf Tours
  6. Commercialbank Qatar Masters Golf Tournament

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.