1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

WGC HSBC Champions


Phil Mickelson first 2-time winner of HSBC Champions

Phil Mickelson was the first golfer to record two wins in the WGC HSBC Champions golf tournament.

Jamie Squire / Getty Images

About the HSBC Champions Tournament:

The HSBC Champions tournament is a World Golf Championships (WGC) event. The HSBC Champions is part of the PGA Tour, European Tour and Asian Tour schedules. Prior to the 2013 tournament, if fell outside of the USPGA Tour schedule, but the winner was credited with an official win in PGA Tour recordkeeping (earnings did not count toward the PGA Tour money list, however). Beginning with its 2013-14 season, however, the PGA Tour began recognizing this event as an official PGA Tour tournament.

The HSBC Champions uses qualifying criteria from the WGC series, based primarily on wins in big events and world rankings. The field is 78 golfers and there is no cut.

2014 WGC HSBC Champions
• When: Nov. 6-9
• Where: Sheshan International in Shanghai, China

2013 Tournament
Dustin Johnson set a new tournament scoring record of 264 in winning his first WGC event. Johnson carded three rounds of 66 or lower. He finished three strokes ahead of runner-up Ian Poulter, who was also defending champion. It was also Poulter whose scoring record Johnson bested.

Official Website
PGA Tour tournament site

HSBC Champions Records:

• 72 holes: 264 - Dustin Johnson, 2013
• 18 holes: 60 - Brandt Snedeker, 2012

HSBC Champions Courses:

After one year away, at Mission Hills Golf Club in Shenzhen, China, the tournament returned in 2013 to Sheshan International Golf Club in Shanghai, where it had previously been played.

HSBC Champions Trivia and Notes:

  • The HSBC Champions tournament was first played in 2005 as a cosanctioned event on the European and Asian tours. It was given WGC status beginning with the 2009 tournament.

  • Beginning with the 2010 tournament, the PGA Tour counted the HSBC Champions as an official win on the U.S. tour, as well, although the tournament followed the completion of the PGA Tour's schedule. ... Until 2013, that is, when the PGA Tour switched to a wraparound schedule, bringing this event into the early portion of its schedule.

  • When the tournament was first played in 2005, it was the season-opening event on the 2006 European Tour schedule. The Euro Tour used to follow at November-through-November calendar. Today, the Euro Tour follows the standard calendar year, so the HSBC Champions - still played in November - is now a late-season Euro Tour tournament.

  • David Howell won the inaugural HSBC Champions in 2005, holding off runner-up Tiger Woods.

  • Woods was runner-up again in 2006, when Y.E. Yang won. It was Yang's first victory outside of the Asian and Japan tours (although the Asian Tour was a cosponsor at that time). A couple years later, Yang held off Woods again to win the 2009 PGA Championship.

  • Phil Mickelson was the first golfer to win the event twice (2007, 2009).

Winners of the WGC HSBC Champions Golf Tournament:

2013 - Dustin Johnson, 264
2012 - Ian Poulter, 267
2011 - Martin Kaymer, 268
2010 - Franceso Molinari, 269
2009 - Phil Mickelson, 271
2008 - Sergio Garcia, 274
2007 - Phil Mickelson, 278
2006 - Y.E. Yang, 274
2005 - David Howell, 268
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.