1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

The Evian Championship


Ai Miyazato - 2007 Evian Masters

Ai Miyazato's first win on the LPGA Tour happened at the 2009 Evian Masters.

Photo © Patrick Micheletti; used with permission

About The Evian Championship:

Two significant changes occurred with this LPGA Tour event beginning in 2013: Its name changed from "Evian Masters" to "The Evian Championship"; and its status changed. Formerly regarded as one of the top events on the LPGA Tour, beginning in 2013 the Evian was elevated to major championship status on the LPGA (it had always been regarded as a major by the Ladies European Tour).

The Evian Championship is one of the highest-paying tournaments in women's golf, many years matching the purse of the U.S. Women's Open. The tournament, played in France on the shores of Lake Geneva, is cosanctioned by the LPGA Tour and the LET.

If the Evian doesn't feel like a major to you, just wait: You'll come around

2014 Evian Championship
• When: Sept. 11-14
• Where: Evian Golf Club, Evian-Les-Bains, France

2013 Evian Championship
Suzann Petterssen shot 68 in the final round to earn the victory by two strokes over amateur Lydia Ko. The tournament was shortened to 54 holes by rain, so Pettersen's winning score was 10-under 203. It was Pettersen's second win in a major and her 13th overall LPGA victory.

2012 Evian Masters
Inbee Park took a lead into the final round, and held onto it with a closing 66. Park finished at 17-under 271, two strokes ahead of runner-up Karrie Webb. It was Park's second career LPGA win and first since winning the 2008 U.S. Women's Open (although she won on other tours during that interim).

Official Website
LPGA Tour tournament site

Evian Championship Records:

  • 18 holes: 63 - Helen Alfredsson, 2008; Stacy Lewis, 2012
  • 72 holes: 267 - Juli Inkster, 2003

Evian Championship Golf Course:

The tournament has been played at Evian Masters Golf Club in Evian-les-Bains, France, for all but one year of its existence. In 2013, that golf course was renamed to The Evian Resort Golf Club.

Evian Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • The Evian Masters was first played in 1994, and it became an official LPGA Tour event in 2000.

  • Helen Alfreddson won the inaugural 1994 tournament, and Annika Sorenstam won the 2000 LPGA debut.

  • Alfredsson is the only 3-time winner of the Evian Masters, also winning in 1998 and 2008. Sorenstam, Laura Davies and Ai Miyazato are the only other multiple champions.
  • Natalie Gulbis' first win on the LPGA Tour happened at the 2007 Evian when she defeated Jeong Jang on the first playoff hole.

  • Another golfer who got her first LPGA victory at the Evian is Ai Miyazato. Miyazato won the 2009 tournament, beating Sophie Gustafson on the first playoff hole.

Evian Championship Winners:

(p-won playoff; w-shortened by weather)

Evian Championship
2013 - Suzann Pettersen-w, 203

Evian Masters
(Note: Tournaments prior to 2013 were not counted as major championships.)
2012 - Inbee Park, 271
2011 - Ai Miyazato, 273
2010 - Jiyai Shin, 274
2009 - Ai Miyazato-p, 274
2008 - Helen Alfredsson-p, 273
2007 - Natalie Gulbis-p, 284
2006 - Karrie Webb, 272
2005 - Paula Creamer, 273
2004 - Wendy Doolan, 270
2003 - Juli Inkster, 267
2002 - Annika Sorenstam, 269
2001 - Rachel Hetherington, 273
2000 - Annika Sorenstam-p, 276
1999 - Catrin Nilsmark, 279
1998 - Helen Alfredsson, 277
1997 - Hiromi Kobayashi-p, 274
1996 - Laura Davies, 274
1995 - Laura Davies, 271
1994 - Helen Alfredsson, 287

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Tours / Events
  5. Pro Golf Tours
  6. The Evian Championship Golf Tournament - LPGA Major

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.