1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

PGA Tour Deutsche Bank Championship


Deutsche Bank Championship

Vijay Singh is a two-time winner of the Deutsche Bank Championship.

Photo © Rich Hodge; used with permission

About the Deutsche Bank Championship:

The Deutsche Bank Championship on the PGA Tour was first played in 2003. It is the second tournament in the FedEx Cup "playoffs." This event is the only one on the PGA Tour with a scheduled Monday finish (Labor Day weekend).

2015 Deutsche Bank Championship
• When: Sept. 4-7
• Where: TPC Boston in Norton, Massachussetts

2014 Deutsche Bank Championship
• When: Aug. 28-Sept. 1
• Where: TPC Boston, Norton, Massachussetts

2013 Tournament
Henrik Stenson tied the tournament scoring record in winning the 2013 event. Stenson finished at 262, 23-under par, to win by two strokes over Steve Stricker. It was Stenson's third PGA Tour victory, but his first since 2009.

Official Web site
PGA Tour Tournament site

PGA Tour Deutsche Bank Championship Records:

  • Overall: 262 - Vijay Singh, 2008; Charley Hoffman, 2010; Henrik Stenson, 2013
  • Tournament course record: 61 - Vijay Singh, 2006; Mike Weir, 2008

PGA Tour Deutsche Bank Championship Golf Courses:

Beginning with its founding in 2003, the PGA Tour Deutsche Bank Championship has been played at the TPC Boston course in Norton, Mass.

PGA Tour Deutsche Bank Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • Adam Scott was the winner of the inaugural event in 2003.

  • As long as Tiger Woods is healthy, you can count on him playing the Deutsche Bank Championship: the Tiger Woods Foundation is one of the primary charities benefiting from the tournament.

  • In 2008, Vijay Singh became the first two-time winner of this tournament, and did it by setting a new 72-hole tournament scoring record.

PGA Tour Deutsche Bank Championship - Past Winners:

(p-won playoff)

2013 - Henrik Stenson, 262
2012 - Rory McIlroy, 264
2011 - Webb Simpson-p, 269
2010 - Charley Hoffman, 262
2009 - Steve Stricker, 267
2008 - Vijay Singh, 262
2007 - Phil Mickelson, 268
2006 - Tiger Woods, 268
2005 - Olin Browne, 270
2004 - Vijay Singh, 268
2003 - Adam Scott, 264

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.