1. Sports

Discuss in my forum

Women's British Open Golf Tournament


Sherri Steinhauer - Women's British Open

Sherri Steinhauer blasts from a bunker at the 2006 Women's British Open, where she won for the third time.

Warren Little / Getty Images

About the Women's British Open::

The Women's British Open, currently carrying the official name of Ricoh Women's British Open, has been considered a major championship in women's golf since 2001 (it replaced the du Maurier Classic as an LPGA major). The tournament was founded by the Ladies Golf Union (governing body of women's golf in Great Britain) in 1976. It permanently became an official stop on the LPGA tour in 1994.

2014 Women's British Open
• When: July 10-13
• Where: Royal Birkdale Golf Club, Lancashire, England

2013 Tournament
Stacy Lewis birdied the last two holes of the final round to get in the clubhouse at 8-under 280, then waited to see if anyone could catch her. Nobody could, and Lewis was the champion. It is Lewis' eighth career LPGA victory, her second career win in a major championship. Because the third day of play was halted early by very high winds, Lewis had to play 36 holes on the final day. She shot 69-72 in those last two rounds.

Final Leaders
Stacy Lewis, 280
Hee Young Park, 282
Ne Yeon Choi, 282
Suzann Pettersen, 283
Morgan Pressel, 283
Lizette Salas, 285

Official website
LPGA tournament site

Women's British Open - Records:

  • Most wins: 3 - Karrie Webb (1995, 1997, 2002) and Sherri Steinhauer (1998, 1999, 2006)
  • Low round: 62 - Minea Blomqvist, third round, 2004
  • Low total strokes: 269 - Karrie Webb, 1997, and Karen Stupples, 2004
  • Low total in relation to par: 19-under - Webb (1997) and Stupples (2004)
  • Largest margin of victory: As a major - 9 strokes, Jiyai Shin, 2012; Overall - 11 strokes, Ayako Okamoto, 1984

Women's British Open - Golf Courses:

The Women's British Open rotates yearly to courses around the U.K.

Recent Sites

Future Sites
  • 2015 - Turnberry (Ailsa Course), Ayrshire, Scotland
Full list of Women's British Open golf courses

Women's British Open - Trivia and Notes:

  • An amateur, Jenny Lee-Smith, won the inaugural Women's British Open - then called the Ladies' British Open - in 1976.

  • Another amateur, Janet Melville, won in 1978, and Marta Figueras-Dotti won as an amateur in 1982.

  • The 1984 tournament (called the Hitachi British Ladies Open), won by Ayako Okamoto by a record 11 strokes, is the only one prior to 1994 that is counted as an official LPGA event.

  • Laura Davies was not yet playing in America when, in her second year as a pro, she won the Women's British Open in 1986. The following year she won the U.S. Women's Open and became a member of the LPGA Tour. The U.S. Women's Open victory in '87 also made Davies the first golfer to hold both the British and U.S. women's open titles simultaneously.
  • Patty Sheehan was the first to win the U.S. and British women's opens in the same year, doing so in 1992.

  • Karrie Webb first gained major notice in 1995 when, as a rookie on the Ladies European Tour, she won the Women's British Open by seven strokes.

  • The record for lowest round in a men's or women's major is 62. It's been done twice, the first time by Minea Blomqvist in the third round at Sunningdale in the 2004 Women's British Open.

  • The British cereal company Weetabix was the title sponsor of this tournament from 1987 through 2006, when it was known as the Weetabix Women's British Open.
  • Catriona Matthew's victory in 2009 came just 11 weeks after Matthew, age 40, gave birth to her second child.

Women's British Open - Past Champions:

Recent winners of the Women's British Open:

2013 - Stacy Lewis
2012 - Jiyai Shin
2011 - Yani Tseng
2010 - Yani Tseng
2009 - Catriona Matthew
Full List of Past Champions

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Major Championships
  5. Women's British Open Golf Tournament

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.