1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Wegmans LPGA Championship


Juli Inkster - McDonald's LPGA Championship

Juli Inkster is a 2-time winner of the McDonald's LPGA Championship, taking the trophy in 1999 and 2000.

Doug Pensinger / Getty Images

About the Wegmans LPGA Championship:

The LPGA Championship was first played in 1955, just a few years after the LPGA itself was founded. It is the championship of the Ladies Professional Golf Association, just as the PGA Championship is the championship of the PGA of America, and is one of the LPGA Tour's major championships. For many years it was known as the McDonald's LPGA Championship; beginning in 2010, Wegmans became the title sponsor and today its full title is Wegmans LPGA Championship.

Note: Beginning in 2015, this tournament will be named the KPMG Women's PGA Championship and will be run by the PGA of America. See 6 key things you need to know about the Women's PGA Championship.

2014 LPGA Championship
• When: Aug. 14-17
• Where: Monroe Golf Club, Pittsford, N.Y.

2013 Wegmans LPGA Championship
Inbee Park won in a playoff over Cattriona Matthew, claiming the second LPGA major in a row after winning the Kraft Nabisco Championship earlier in the year. Park now has three career victories in majors. Park and Matthew tied at 5-under 283 in regulation, then matched scores on the first two extra holes. On the third playoff hole, Park won with a birdie to Matthew's bogey.

Official Web site
LPGA tournament site

LPGA Championship Records:

  • Low 18-hole round: 63 - Patty Sheehan, Jack Nicklaus Sports Center, 1984; Meg Mallon, DuPont Country Club, 1999
  • Low 72-hole score: 267 - Betsy King, Bethesda Country Club, 1992

LPGA Championship Golf Courses:

In 2014, the tournament stays in the same city but changes golf course. Locust Hill Country Club in Pittsford, N.Y., became the home course of the Wegmans LPGA Championship in 2010. In 2014, the event moves to Monroe Golf Club, still in Pittsford.

The LPGA Championship from 2005-2009 was played at Bulle Rock Golf Course in Havre de Grace, Md. Prior to Bulle Rock, the LPGA Championship was played at DuPont Country Club in Wilmington, Del., from 1994-2004; before that, Bethesda Country Club in Bethesda, Md., 1990-93.

The Jack Nicklaus Sports Center course in Kings Island, Ohio, and Pleasant Valley Country Club in Sutton, Mass., are two other host courses from the past.

LPGA Championship Trivia and Notes:

  • The LPGA Championship was first played in 1955, making its the second oldest tournament on the LPGA Tour (behind only the U.S. Women's Open).

  • Beverly Hanson won that first tournament, defeating Louise Suggs 4 and 3 in the championship match. Yes, the first LPGA Championship ended in a match-play finale, although the first three rounds were stroke play. That was the only time match play was used in this tournament.
  • When Sandra Post won in 1968, she was a rookie, just 19 years old, and defeated Kathy Whitworth in a playoff. Post was the youngest major champion in LPGA history until Morgan Pressel's win at the Kraft Nabisco Championship in 2007.

  • Mickey Wright is the only four-time winner of this event. Her victories occurred in 1958, 1960-61 and 1963.

  • The LPGA Championship is the only major won by Nancy Lopez during her illustrious career, but she did win it three times: 1978, 1985 and 1989.

  • Beth Daniel won just one major, and it was the 1990 LPGA Championship.
  • Other three-time winners are Kathy Whitworth (1967, 1971, 1975); Patty Sheehan (1983-84, 1993); Se Ri Pak (1998, 2002, 2006); and Annika Sorenstam (2003-05).

  • Cristie Kerr (2010) and Yani Tseng (2011) established tournament records in back-to-back years for most strokes under par. Each finished at 19-under. Kerr won by 12 strokes and Tseng won by 10.

Wegmans LPGA Championship - Past Champions:

2013 - Inbee Park
2012 - Shanshan Feng
2011 - Yani Tseng
2010 - Cristie Kerr
2009 - Anna Nordqvist
2008 - Yani Tseng
2007 - Suzann Pettersen
2006 - Se Ri Pak
2005 - Annika Sorenstam
View the Full List of Winners

Related Video
Correct Posture
Correct Ball Position
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Major Championships
  5. Wegmans LPGA Championship Golf Tournament

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.