1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

2014 PGA Championship

Dates, Qualifying Criteria for 2014 PGA Championship Golf Tournament

The PGA Championship, governed by the PGA of America, is played every August. The tournament is one of the four major championships of men's professional golf.

Dates: August 7-10, 2014
Location: Valhalla Golf Club, Louisville, Kentucky
Defending champion: Jason Dufner (recap/scores)

Poll: Which of these 10 golfers do you think is most likely to win the 2014 PGA Championship? (click your choice to cast vote)
1) Rickie Fowler
2) Sergio Garcia
3) Martin Kaymer
4) Rory McIlroy
5) Phil Mickelson
6) Justin Rose
7) Adam Scott
8) Jordan Spieth
9) Bubba Watson
10) Tiger Woods

Previous PGAs Played at Valhalla
This course has been the site of the PGA Championship before. Click on a year to view scores and a recap of previous PGAs played here:
2000 - 1996

Photo tour of Valhalla Golf Club

Visit our PGA Championship golf tournament index for more info about this major.

2014 PGA Championship Field

These are the golfers who've qualified (through July 22) for the 2014 PGA Championship. The final field will be released on July 28.

Rich Beem
Thomas Bjorn
Jonas Blixt
Michael Block
Steven Bowditch
Keegan Bradley
Jamie Broce
Mark Brooks
Angel Cabrera
Rafael Cabrera-Bello
Paul Casey
Roberto Castro
Darren Clarke
George Coetzee
Rob Corcoran
Ben Crane
John Daly
Jason Day
Stuart Deane
Graham DeLaet
Luke Donald
Jamie Donaldson
Victor Dubuisson
Jason Dufner
Ernie Els
Harris English
Frank Esposito
Matt Every
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano
Ross Fisher
Tommy Fleetwood
Jim Furyk
Stephen Gallacher
Sergio Garcia
Branden Grace
Chesson Hadley
Padraig Harrington
David Hearn
Ryan Helminen
Russell Henley
J.B. Holmes
David Hronek
Kim Hyung-Sung
Mikko Ilonen
Ryo Ishikawa
Freddie Jacobson
Thongchai Jaidee
Miguel Angel Jimenez
Dustin Johnson
Zach Johnson
Matt Jones
Martin Kaymer
Chris Kirk
Brooks Koepka
Johan Kok
Aaron Krueger
Matt Kuchar
Anirban Lahiri
Pablo Larrazabal
Marc Leishman
Davis Love III
Shane Lowry
Joost Luiten
Matteo Manassero
Ben Martin
Hideki Matsuyama
Graeme McDowell
Paul McGinley
Jim McGovern
Rory McIlroy
David McNabb
Shaun Micheel
Phil Mickelson
Edoardo Molinari
Francesco Molinari
Colin Montgomerie
Ryan Moore
Seung-Yul Noh
Brian Norman
Koumei Oda
Thorbjorn Olesen
Louis Oosthuizen
Kenny Perry
Rod Perry
Matt Pesta
Scott Piercy
Ian Poulter
Patrick Reed
Justin Rose
Steve Schneiter
Charl Schwartzel
Adam Scott
John Senden
Webb Simpson
Vijay Singh
Jerry Smith
Brandt Snedeker
Bob Sowards
Kevin Stadler
Scott Stallings
Henrik Stenson
Richard Sterne
Kevin Streelman
Steve Stricker
David Tentis
Brendon Todd
David Toms
Dustin Volk
Jimmy Walker
Marc Warren
Bubba Watson
Tom Watson
Boo Weekley
Lee Westwood
Bernd Wiesberger
Eric Williamson
Chris Wood
Tiger Woods
Y.E. Yang

Qualifying Criteria for the 2014 PGA Championship Golf Tournament
There are multiple ways that golfers can qualify to play in the PGA Championship. The field also always includes 20 club professionals playing along with the touring pros. Players who meet the following qualifications (note - subject to change prior to 2014 PGA) earn berths in the field:

  • All former PGA Champions
  • Winners of the previous five U.S. Opens
  • Winners of the previous five Masters
  • Winners of the previous five British Opens
  • The current year Senior PGA Champion
  • The low 15 (and ties) finishers from the previous PGA Championship
  • The low 20 finishers in the current year PGA Professional National Championship
  • Top top 70 players on the PGA Championship points list for a one-year period concluding (typically) two weeks prior to the current year PGA Championship
  • Members of the most recent Ryder Cup teams (both USA and Europe) so long as they are inside the Top 100 in the world rankings
  • Winners of PGA Tour events during the period from last year's PGA Championship to this year's PGA
  • Remaining openings in field filled by first available player(s) from PGA Championship points list
  • Plus any player the PGA of America might choose to invite who otherwise failed to meet the above qualifying criteria.

Back to list of PGA Championship Winners

Related Articles
Masters Winners
U.S. Open Winners
British Open Winners

More on the PGA Championship
PGA Championship Records
PGA Championship Index on About.com

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

See More About

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.