1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

What Is the 'Open Rota'?

British Open FAQ: Rotation of golf courses as tournament site


The par-4 No. 3 hole at Carnoustie Golf Club

A scene from Carnoustie, one of the golf courses included in the 'Open Rota.'

David Cannon/Getty Images

"Open rota" is the term applied to the rotation of golf courses that host the Open Championship.

The British Open is played at a different course each year, alternating between Scotland and England. There are currently nine golf courses in the Open rota (listed in no particular order):

The only constant is that The Old Course is the site of the Open Championship every fifth year (which currently coincides with years ending in 0 and 5: 1990, 1995, 2005, etc.). As noted, the R&A typically alternates between England and Scotland, although that is not always the case.

Other than those two considerations, the R&A slots the above courses into the Open rota as it sees fit, which doesn't always result in a regular pattern. For example, Royal Birkdale hosted in 1983, then eight years later in 1991, then seven years later in 1998, then 10 years later in 2008. Muirfield hosted in 1987, five years later in 1992, 10 years later in 2002, and again in 2013.

Also note that all the courses in the rotation are links.

See also:
Yearly list of British Open golf courses

Return to British Open FAQ index

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Major Championships
  5. What Is the 'Open Rota'?

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.