1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

PGA Championship Golf Tournament

Facts, figures, history, trivia for the final major of the golf season


Jason Dufner with the PGA Championship Wanamaker Trophy

2014 PGA Championship winner Jason Dufner admires the Wanamaker Trophy.

Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

The PGA Championship is one of golf's four major championships. It is played yearly at different courses and hosted by the Professional Golfers Association, a k a the PGA of America.

2015 PGA Championship

2014 Tournament
Rory McIlroy claimed his fourth win in a major championship, his second major of 2014 and his second PGA Championship. McIlroy finished at 16-under 268, beating runner-up Phil Mickelson by one stroke. McIlroy began the final round leading, but fell behind after two bogeys on the front nine, and after Mickelson and Rickie Fowler both scored several birdies on their own front nines. But McIlroy started the back nine with an eagle on No. 10, and played a bogey-free final nine. He added birdies on Nos. 13 and 17. Rushing to finish after a rain delay, and playing in near total darkness, McIlroy hit a perfect lag putt on the final green and tapped in for the win. Read more/view scores

See also:

Final Leaders
Rory McIlroy, 268
Phil Mickelson, 269
Henrik Stenson, 270
Rickie Fowler, 270
Jim Furyk, 272
Ryan Palmer, 272
Jimmy Walker, 273
Ernie Els, 273
Victor Dubuisson, 273
Hunter Mahan, 273
Steve Stricker, 273
Mikko Ilonen, 273
Full Scores

Profile of Valhalla Golf Club
Check out the pars and yardages, the course designer and best-known features, plus the history and some fun trivia about Valhalla.
See also: Valhalla Photo Gallery

Previous PGA Championships at Valhalla
Valhalla has been the site of the PGA Championship twice before. Click to view the final scores and read a tourney recap:

2013 Tournament
Jason Dufner shot 63 in the second round, then went from the 8th hole of the third round until the 17th hole of the final round without making bogey. Add that up and throw in two other solid rounds, and you have a PGA Championship winner. Dufner finished at 10-under 270, winning by two strokes over Jim Furyk. It is Dufner's first major championship victory and his third PGA Tour victory. Scores/Recap

PGA Championship - Facts, Figures, Trivia

PGA Championship Winners & Scores
Check the list of winners through the years, going back to the first PGA Championship in 1916. Click on the year of the tournament to view the scores and read a recap of that year's event.
Related article: PGA Championship playoffs

PGA Champions Dinner
Like at The Masters, at the PGA Championship every year there is a Champions Dinner. What's on the menu? And did you know that defending PGA champs also give gifts when they host the dinner?

Take a PGA Championship Quiz
Just how well do you know your golf trivia? Try one of our PGA Championship quizzes to test your skills. You might even learn some cool facts!
Best golfers never to win PGA Championship
Best players in PGA Championship history

PGA Championship FAQs
When and where was the tournament first played? Who has won it most often? What is the cut rule and playoff format? Why is the trophy named what it is? Find answers to these questions and more.

PGA Championship Records
Look through this interesting list of tournament records. You're sure to find some interesting facts.

PGA Championship Courses
Where has each PGA Championship been played? See the list of championship golf courses.

Future Sites
2015Whistling Straits, Kohler, Wisc.
2016 – Baltusrol Golf Club (Lower Course), Springfield, N.J.
2017 - Quail Hollow Club, Charlotte, N.C.

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Major Championships
  5. PGA Championship Golf Tournament

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.