1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

The British Open

History, Records and Facts about the Open Championship Golf Tournament


St. Andrews village, golf birthplace
Andrea Pistolesi/The Image Bank/Getty Images
Welcome to the home of the British Open golf tournament - more properly called the Open Championship - on About.com. The British Open golf tournament is one of the four golf majors, and the oldest, dating back to the 1860s.

2014 Tournament
Rory McIlroy took a 6-shot lead into the final round, then shot a steady 71 to win by two strokes. It is McIlroy's first British Open win, but his third overall major championship victory. At age 25, he is the third-youngest golfer to record three wins in majors since 1934 (when the advent of The Masters created the four professional majors as they exist today). McIlroy also became the seventh golfer in Open history to win wire-to-wire without ties at the end of any rounds. He took the first-round lead with a 66, shot another 66 in Round 2, added a 68 in the third, and closed with a 71. His final score of 271 was 17-under par. Recap/Scores

Final Leaders
Rory McIlroy, 271
Sergio Garcia, 273
Rickie Fowler, 273
Jim Furyk, 275
Marc Leishman, 276
Adam Scott, 276
Charl Schwartzel, 277
Edoardo Molinari, 277

McIlroy Joins List of Youngest Golfers with 3 Majors
\ Here's a look at the youngest golfers to win three majors - since 1934, since 1900 and all-time. We've also included others who weren't so young for the sake of comparison.

Previous Opens at Royal Liverpool
Click the year to view the winner, final scores and a recap:
2006 - 1967 - 1956 - 1947 - 1936 - 1930 - 1924 - 1913 - 1907 - 1902 - 1897

2013 Tournament
Phil Mickelson closed with a round of 66 that included birdies on the final two holes, and won by three strokes over Henrik Stenson. Third-round leader Lee Westwood, along with Adam Scott and Tiger Woods, both of whom led Mickelson entering the final round, failed to break par. It was Mickelson's first British Open victory, his fifth overall win in a major, his 42nd career PGA Tour win. Read recap/view scores
Phil Mickelson's career wins in majors

British Open Golf Tournament - Facts, Figures, Trivia

British Open Past Champions
The British Open dates back to 1860, and you can see every champion through the years on this list.
See also: British Open playoffs

British Open Records
Wondering about the oldest and youngest winners? The tournament scoring record? Browse through some of the British Open records.

British Open Golf Courses
What links have hosted the Open Championship? Here's the list of every golf course used as a site for the championship.

British Open FAQ
What is the cut rule and the playoff format? Who won the first British Open and when was it played? Why is the trophy called the Claret Jug? What is the cut rule? Who won the most Opens? These and many other questions are addressed and answered.

10 Best Golfers Ever in the British Open
In the long history of the Open Championship, which golfers have played it best? Here is our ranking of the 10 best-ever in the tournament, counted down from No. 10 to No. 1.

Take a British Open Quiz
How well do you know your British Open trivia? Try one of our Open Championship quizzes to test your knowledge. They're not easy, but if you don't the answers you'll wind up learning lots of new facts.

Poll: Aside from The Old Course, which links in the Open rota would you most want to play? (click your choice to cast vote)
1) Carnoustie
2) Muirfield
3) Royal Birkdale
4) Royal Liverpool
5) Royal Lytham & St. Annes
6) Royal St. George's
7) Royal Troon
8) Turnberry

Future Sites
2014: Royal Liverpool
2015: The Old Course at St. Andrews
2016: Royal Troon

Futures dates/sites: 2013 British Open | 2014 British Open | 2015 British Open

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Major Championships
  5. British Open Golf Tournament

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.