1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

U.S. Amateur Championship


U.S. Amateur Championship - Nick Flanagan

Nick Flanagan holds the Havemeyer Cup after winning the 2003 U.S. Amateur Championship.

Daniel Berehulak / Getty Images

About the U.S. Amateur Championship:

The U.S. Amateur Championship, conducted by the USGA, is open to amateur golfers who have a USGA Handicap Index of 2.4 or lower. A series of stroke-play qualifiers is played around the country. A handful of U.S. Ams have been played fully at stroke play, but nearly all have culminated in match play. The U.S. Amateur Championship was first played in 1895.

A field of 312 golfers is cut to the top 64 following two days of stroke play. Those 64 move on to single-elimination match play culminating in a 36-hole championship match.

2014 US Amateur
Gunn Yang won the 2014 championship over Carey Conners by a score of 2 and 1. Yang is from Korea and Conners from Canada. Yang won the first hole of the 36-hole final, and led the entire first 18. But Conners squared the match on the 19th hole, and it remained all square through the 23rd. But Yang went up again on the 25th hole and never relinquished the lead.

2013 Tournament
Matt Fitzpatrick of England defeated Oliver Goss of Australian in the 36-hole championship match by a score of 4 and 3. The match was all square after the 19th hole, but Fitzpatrick won the 20th and 21st, and led the rest of the way.

2012 U.S. Amateur
Steven Fox rolled in a long putt on the first extra hole to defeat Michael Weaver, 1-up, in 37 holes for the championship. Weaver took the lead on the seventh hole and held it until the 36th, when Fox squared the match. Fox was 2-down with two holes to play, then won the 35th and 36th holes to take the match to extra holes.

2011 US Amateur Championship
Kelly Kraft defeated Patrick Cantlay, 2-up, in a match that went back and forth throughout. Kraft was as much as 4-up in the morning 18, and ended the first 18 2-up. But Cantlay squared it on the 24th hole and led 1-up with four holes to play. Kraft won the next two holes to go back in front, then won the 36th hole for the final margin.

2010 Tournament
Peter Uihlein, the world's No. 1-ranked amateur, defeated fellow NCAA collegian David Chung, 4 and 2. Chung had beaten Uihlein in match play twice previously. The win came on Uihlein's 21st birthday.

Official Web site

U.S. Amateur Championship Records:

Most Wins
  • 5 - Bobby Jones (1924, 1925, 1927, 1928, 1930)
  • 4 - Jerome Travers (1907, 1908, 1912, 1913)
Most Consecutive Wins
  • 3 - Tiger Woods (1994-96)
  • 2 - H.J. Whigham (1986-7); Walter Travis (1900-01); H. Chandler Egan (1904-5); Jerome Travers (1907-8, 1912-13); Bobby Jones (1924-5, 1927-8); Lawson Little (1934-5); E. Harvie Ward (1955-6); Jay Sigel (1982-3)
Youngest Champion
  • Danny Lee, 2008 (18 years, 1 month)
Oldest Champion
  • Jack Westland, 1952 (47 years, 3 months, 9 days)
Largest Winning Margin in Final
  • 12 and 11 - Charles B. Macdonald def. Charles Sands, 1895

U.S. Amateur Championship Golf Courses:

The U.S. Amateur rotates to different courses each year. Here are the coming sites and most recent sites:

Future Sites

  • 2015 - Olympia Fields Country Club, Olympia Fields, Ill.
Recent Sites
  • 2014 - Atlanta Athletic Club, Atlanta, Ga.
  • 2013 - The Country Club, Brookline, Mass.
  • 2012 - Cherry Hills Country Club, Cherry Hills Village, Colo.
Full List of U.S. Amateur Golf Courses

U.S. Amateur Championships Trivia and Notes:

  • The USGA was founded in 1894, and in 1895 the U.S. Amateur Championship debuted.

  • Charles B. Macdonald won the first U.S. Am. Yes, he's the Charles B. Macdonald - the renowned golf course architect who designed such courses as Chicago Golf Club, National Golf Links of America and the Yale University course.

  • The first U.S. Amateur and first U.S. Open were played simultaneously, but the Open started one day later than the Amateur. That makes the Amateur the oldest golf tournament in America.
  • The U.S. Amateur has usually included stroke-play qualifying rounds, and has almost always concluded with match play. However, from 1965-72, the Amateur was played entirely at stroke play.

  • The trophy of the U.S. Am is known as the Havemeyer Cup, and the winner receives possession of it for one year.

  • Bobby Jones is the only 5-time winner of this event. He reached the final 7 times (the record), losing in 1919 and 1926.

  • Tiger Woods is the only golfer to win this tournament three times in a row. Woods also holds records as the youngest champion, and for most consecutive matches won (18, over three championships).
  • Chick Evans (1916) and Bobby Jones (1930) are the only golfers to win the U.S. Amateur and U.S. Open in the same years. Nine other golfers won both tournaments during the course of their careers. But two of those - Francis Ouimet and Johnny Goodman - won the Open before they won the Amateur.

  • Two-time winner and five-time finalist Chick Evans played in the U.S. Amateur a record 50 times. William C. Campbell, a onetime USGA president, played every year from 1941-77 (excluding 1942-45, when the championship wasn't played), a record 33 straight years.

U.S. Amateur Championship Winners:

Recent Winners
2014 - Gunn Yang def. Corey Conners, 2 and 1
2013 - Matt Fitzpatrick def. Oliver Goss, 4 and 3
2012 - Steven Fox def. Michael Weaver, 1-up (37 holes)
2011 - Kelly Kraft def. Patrick Cantlay, 2-up
2010 - Peter Uihlein def. David Chung, 4 and 2
2009 - Byeong-Hun An def. Ben Martin, 7 and 5
2008 - Danny Lee def. Drew Kittleson, 5 and 4
2007 - Colt Knost def. Michael Thompson, 2 and 1
Full List of U.S. Amateur Champions
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Tours / Events
  5. Amateur Golf
  6. USGA Tournament Schedule
  7. US Amateur Championship Golf Tournament

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.