1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

British Ladies Amateur Championship


Carlota Ciganda - British Ladies Amateur Championship

Carlota Ciganda holds the British Ladies Amateur Championship trophy after winning the 2007 title.

Courtesy of the Ladies Golf Union; used with permission

About the British Ladies Amateur Championship:

The British Ladies Amateur Championship is the premier golf tournament in Great Britain and Europe for female amateurs. First played in 1893, the tournament's official name is Ladies' British Open Amateur Championship. It is also sometimes referred to as the British Ladies Am and the British Women's Amateur.

The governing body for the British Ladies Amateur Championship is the Ladies Golf Union (LGU).

LGU Web site

The British Ladies Amateur Championship opens with two rounds of stroke play qualifying. The Top 64 advance to match play, with an 18-hole championship final.

2014 Tournament
Emily Pedersen of Denmark defeated Leslie Cloots of Belguim, 3 and 1, in the championship match to win. Cloots opened the match by winning the first hole, but Pedersen got it back to all square on the sixth. Pedersen took a 1-up lead on the 10th and never relinquished the lead. In the semifinals, Pedersen beat Sweden's Jenny Haglund and Cloots defeated France's Marion Veysseyre.

2013 British Ladies Am
Georgia Hall, a 17-year-old from England, defeated Spain's Luna Sobron by a 1-up score to win the championship. The golfers were all square with two holes to play, then Hall aced the 17th hole to go 1-up. They halved the final hole, giving Hall the title.

British Ladies Amateur Championship - Facts & Figures:

Most Victories
• 4 wins - Cecil Leitch (1914, 1920-21, 1926), Joyce Wethered (1922, 1924-25, 1929)
• 3 wins - Lady Margaret Scott (1893-95), May Hezlet (1899, 1902, 1907), Enid Wilson (1931-33), Jessie Valentine (1937, 1955, 1958), Brigitte Varangot (1963, 1965, 1968)
Tournament Trivia
  • Eleven golfers have won both the British Ladies Amateur Championship and the U.S. Women's Amateur Championship: Dorothy Campbell, Gladys Ravenscroft, Pamela Barton, Babe Didrikson Zaharias, Louise Suggs, Marlene Stewart Streit, Barbara McIntire, Catherine Lacoste, Carol Semple Thompson, Anne Quast, Kelli Kuehne.

  • Babe Didrikson Zaharias in 1947 was the first American to win the British Ladies Am.

  • Four golfers have won the British Ladies Am and U.S. Women's Am in the same year: Dorothy Campbell (1909), Pamela Barton (1936), Catherine Lacoste (1969) and Kelli Kuehne (1996).

British Ladies Amateur Championship Winners:

2014 - Emily Pedersen, Denmark, def. Leslie Cloots, Belgium, 3 and 1
2013 - Georgia Hall, England, def. Luna Sobron, Spain, 1-up
2012 - Stephanie Meadow, Northern Ireland, def. Rocio Sanchez Lobato, Spain, 4 and 3
2011 - Lauren Taylor, England, def. Alexandra Bonetti, France, 6 and 5
2010 - Kelly Tidy, England, def. Kelsey MacDonald, Scotland, 2 and 1
2009 - Azahara Munoz def. Carlota Ciganda, 2 and 1
2008 - Anna Nordqvist def. Caroline Hedwall, 3 and 2
2007 - Carlota Ciganda def. Anna Nordqvist, 4 and 3
2006 - Belen Mozo def. Anna Nordqvist, 3 and 1
Full List of Winners

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf
  4. Tours / Events
  5. Amateur Golf
  6. British Ladies Amateur Championship Golf Tournament

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.