1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://golf.about.com/cs/rulesofgolf/a/rulefaq_puttout.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

What Happens if you Try to Putt Out a Conceded Putt - and Miss?

By

So you concede a putt to your opponent. But the opponent jabs at the ball anyway, and the ball misses the cup. Has your opponent just cost himself a stroke?

Nice try.

The missed "putt" doesn't count. A conceded putt is a holed putt. Once one player informs another that the putt is conceded, that player's play of the hole is over and his or her score is in the books (see Rule 2).

Note that conceded putts are only allowed in match play competitions, and that they differ from "gimmies," which are not allowed by the rules under any circumstances.

Return to Golf Rules FAQ index

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.