1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

1990: The Year in Golf


Phil Mickelson 1990

Phil Mickelson had two big amateur wins in 1990.

Gary Newkirk / Getty Images
Previous Year | Next Year
Golf Timeline Homepage

Golf ball sizes around the world are standardized when the R&A switches from a minimum diameter of 1.62 inches to adopt the USGA's minimum diameter of 1.68 inches.

The Solheim Cup, named for Ping founder Karsten Solheim and the women's golf equivalent of the Ryder Cup, is launched. (Results below.)

The PGA of America and PGA Tour announce they will no longer place tournaments at private clubs with discriminatory membership policies.

The Ben Hogan Tour is created as a developmental tour for the PGA Tour. It will later be called the Nike Tour, then the Nationwide Tour.

At age 45, Hale Irwin wins the U.S. Open, becoming that event's oldest winner.

Jack Nicklaus debuts on the Senior PGA Tour (later called the Champions Tour) with a victory in the Tradition.

Nick Faldo wins his second straight Masters - the first player since Jack Nicklaus in 1965-66 to win back-to-back Masters - and also wins the British Open. Nicklaus finishes in sixth place.

Lee Trevino gets his first win on the Senior PGA Tour at the Royal Caribbean Classic.

For the first time since Jack Nicklaus did it, a player wins both the U.S. Amateur and the NCAA Championship. Phil Mickelson is that player.

Jack Nicklaus sets a 72-hole scoring record for the Senior Tour, shooting 27-under-par 261 at the Ford Senior Players Championship.

Money Leaders:

PGA: Greg Norman, $1,165,477
Senior PGA: Lee Trevino, $1,190,518
LPGA: Beth Daniel, $863,578
European: Ian Woosnam, Wales, £ 574,166

Scoring Leaders:

PGA (Vardon Trophy): Greg Norman, 69.10
Senior PGA: Lee Trevino, 68.89
LPGA (Vare Trophy): Beth Daniel, 70.54

Men's Major Championship Winners:

The Masters: Nick Faldo
U.S. Open: Hale Irwin
British Open: Nick Faldo
PGA Championship: Wayne Grady

Women's Major Championship Winners:

LPGA: Beth Daniel
U.S. Open: Betsy King
duMaurier: Cathy Johnston
Nabisco: Betsy King

Amateur Champions:

U.S.: Phil Mickelson
British: Rolf Muntz
U.S. Women's: Pat Hurst
British Women's: Julie Wade Hall

Solheim Cup:

Related Video
Golf Swing Basics
Correct Posture

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.