1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

1912: The Year in Golf


Ben Hogan 1912

Ben Hogan is one of a trio of greats born in 1912.

Getty Images
Previous Year | Next Year
Golf Timeline Homepage

John Ball wins his eighth British Amateur Championship, setting a record that still stands for most wins in a single major (the British Amateur at this time was one of golf's four majors).

Johnny McDermott wins his second straight U.S. Open, shooting 2-under for the tournament. He is the first golfer to shoot under par in a 72-hole event.

Born This Year:

Ben Hogan, 9-time major championship winner, more than 60 PGA Tour wins
Byron Nelson, more than 50 PGA Tour wins, including 18 in 1945
Sam Snead, recordholder with 82 career PGA Tour wins, plus seven major championships
• George Fazio, PGA Tour, golf course designer
• Jim Turnesa, 1952 PGA Championship winner

Men's Major Championship Winners:

U.S. Open: Johnny McDermott
British Open: Ted Ray

Amateur Champions:

U.S.: Jerome Travers
British: John Ball
U.S. Women's: Margaret Curtis
British Women's: Gladys Ravenscroft

  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.