1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Discuss in my forum

Brent Kelley

Past Open Championships at Muirfield

By July 12, 2013

Follow me on:

The British Open returns this year to Muirfield, a links in Gullane, Scotland, outside Edinburgh that is home to the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers. It's the first visit by the Open to Muirfield in more than 10 years.

Is there anyone in the 2013 field with a strong connection to Muirfield, someone who fared particularly well the last time the Open was there?

Well, there's Ernie Els. All Els did was win the 2002 British Open at Muirfield. And he's the defending champion, too.

Another golfer strongly associated with Muirfield is Nick Faldo, who won there twice, in 1987 and 1992. Faldo won't win the 2013 Open, he probably won't even make the cut. But he is playing. It will be Faldo's first appearance in an Open since 2010. He hasn't played any of the other majors since 2006.

Here is the list of years in which Muirfield has been the site of the British Open, along with the corresponding champions (click on the year to view final scores and a recap):

2002: Ernie Els
1992: Nick Faldo
1987: Nick Faldo
1980: Tom Watson
1972: Lee Trevino
1966: Jack Nicklaus
1959: Gary Player
1948: Henry Cotton
1935: Alf Perry
1929: Walter Hagen
1912: Ted Ray
1906: James Braid
1901: James Braid
1896: Harry Vardon
1892: Harold Hilton


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.