1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Discuss in my forum

Brent Kelley

Scott Tops Majors Aggregate Ranking for 2012

By December 26, 2012

Follow me on:

Adam Scott is the Majors Aggregate Champion of 2012. What is the "majors aggregate championship?" It's a way of measuring which golfer was the most consistent in the year's four major championships.

To be eligible for the title, a golfer must make the cut in all four majors. After identifying the golfers who accomplished that, it's a matter of tallying their scores from each major, and ranking the golfers accordingly. Those tasks have been handled for years by Colin McGillivray on the website golf-majors-champion.com - Colin even managed, one year, to present Tiger Woods with a trophy!

In 2012, only 12 golfers made the cut in all four majors. That number might seem small, but it is fairly representative of years past, too.

Scott's stroke total in the four majors was 1,130, two strokes better than runner-up Graeme McDowell.

Here is how the 12 golfers stacked up in 2012, with the total for each major (listed in the order of Masters, U.S. Open, British Open and PGA Championship) followed by the aggregate score:

Adam Scott 284-286-274-286--1130
Graeme McDowell 286-282-278-286--1132
Ian Poulter 283-291-280-284--1138
Padraig Harrington 284-283-285-287--1139
Tiger Woods 293-287-277-286--1143
Jim Furyk 285-283-284-292--1144
Jason Dufner 289-283-283-289--1144
Steve Stricker 295-286-282-285--1147
Fredrik Jacobson 288-286-287-291--1152
Francesco Molinari 288-289-285-294--1156
Keegan Bradley 290-298-284-284--1156
Zach Johnson 291-291-280-300--1162

Woods' fifth-place showing is of note. If you look a back at all the years in which Woods made the cut in each major (which you can do on golf-majors-champion.com), fifth place is the lowest Woods has ever finished in this ranking.

Winners the previous five years are:
  • 2011: Charl Schwartzel
  • 2010: Phil Mickelson
  • 2009: Ross Fisher
  • 2008: Padraig Harrington
  • 2007: Tiger Woods

Scott, of course, failed to win any of the four majors, but despite that earns the Majors Aggregate Champion title. Scott and Fisher (2009) are the only golfers so far in the 21st century to top this ranking despite not winning one of the year's majors.


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.