1. Sports

Discuss in my forum

Brent Kelley

Stacy Lewis Wraps Up LPGA Player of the Year Award

By November 11, 2012

Follow me on:

Cristie Kerr was the winner of the LPGA Lorena Ochoa Invitational on Sunday, the 15th career LPGA win for Kerr. Kerr has been the top American player in women's golf for much of the past eight years or so, but she's never won the tour's Player of the Year Award.

In fact, an American hasn't won the LPGA POY since Beth Daniel did it in 1994. Until now. With the results from Mexico, Lewis has clinched the 2012 Player of the Year award on the LPGA Tour.

Since Daniel's win in 1994, only five golfers shared the award from 1995 through 2011: Sweden's Annika Sorenstam (eight times), England's Laura Davies (once), Australia's Karrie Webb (twice), Mexico's Lorena Ochoa (four times) and Taiwan's Yani Tseng (twice).

This year, the race for the points-based award came down to Stacy Lewis of the USA and Korea's Inbee Park. But Park's chances going into the Ochoa tournament were very slim: She needed to win the LPGA's final two tournaments of the year with Lewis finishing outside the Top 10 in both.

Neither of those things happened at the Ochoa, although Park gave it a great effort with a tie for second behind Kerr. Lewis finished sixth. And that means Stacy Lewis has mathematically clinched the 2012 Player of the Year Award.

What did Lewis do to earn it? In 24 LPGA appearances this year, Lewis has four wins and 16 Top 10s. She's second on the money list and third in scoring average. And she clearly wrested away from Kerr the title of top American on the LPGA, moving up to No. 2 in the world rankings earlier in the year.


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>
  1. About.com
  2. Sports
  3. Golf

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.